Larch cardigan

In May/June this year I was very lucky to go on a tour of Estonia led by Nancy Bush with my mother and sister.  I intended to knit this cardigan so that it would be finished while I was there.

I knitted on the flight to Estonia, and on the bus as we drove around Estonia.  We had amazing lessons, learning many new techniques and making friends with each other.

My mother and sister

We stayed in a huge variety of accommodation (the photo above shows my mother and sister in the doorway of our cabin in Kihnu – it was by far the most rustic) and I knitted this cardigan outdoors while drinking Estonian pear cider.

Kihnu Roosie

After lessons where I learned to make braids like the ones on the troi below, I sat and ploughed through stockingette.

1-IMG_0776We visited castles – the one below is in Haapsallu (yes the town of the shawls).
1-IMG_0831 But I wasn’t knitting as I walked down these steps!1-IMG_0832 The variety of knitwear that we saw was truly amazing – these socks are knitted at an incredibly fine gauge and date back to the late 19th Century.

1-IMG_0373 The variety of mittens and gloves that we saw have given me lots of inspiration for colour work.  Nancy was a very thoughtful and organised tour leader and the tour group laughed constantly.1-IMG_0424 Despite all the inspiration, I plugged on with the stockingette.1-IMG_0574By the time I hopped onto the plane back to Sydney, I had finally reached the collar of the cardigan, and then I remembered that I hated knitting twisted rib.  The cardigan sat scrunched in a bag until a couple of weeks ago, and I finally finished it today.

Finished Larch cardigan

Technical details here. The dog is Percy, who joined our family in April as a retired pets as therapy dog. He is a delight; a neurotic, food motivated, delight.

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

7 thoughts on “Larch cardigan”

  1. Oh more photos of the amazing trip! Yay!
    The stairs! Oh my! And all that knitwear, I don’t know how you restrained yourself!
    I bet you are glad your persevered with the twisted rib – it does look good!

  2. How fantastic! Isn’t part of your family originally from the Baltics? What fun to go with your sister and mother. I have had Larch in my queue forever. I even have appropriate yarn in the stash. But twisting sts on both sides – ick. Looks great. Just in time for the hot weather!

  3. That sounds like such a wonderful holiday! The photos of all those beautiful knitted things are incredible. The Larch cardigan looks wonderful too, well done for finishing it off. And Percy looks adorable.

Leave a Reply

