Admitting defeat

These socks are too small.  I’ve known it for some time, but continued knitting.

Virve's stockings

I discussed the issue with my knitting group, who advised me to at least block the sock before continuing, but I continued knitting (with a little less vigour and enthusiasm).  They socks have lovely lacy bits at the top, that threaten to cut off the blood supply to my lower extremities

IMG_0073I love the little stripe of colour work, but it is the tightest bit of it all.  I need to tug and grimace to get it over my heel.

Virve's colourwork

I’ve blocked them, and I still can’t get them on, or off without 10 minutes to spare, and the colourwork is clearly tighter than the rest of the sock. Farewell, fair sock.

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

7 thoughts on “Admitting defeat”

  1. Gift to one of your daughters? Or just rip and reuse? Too bad. I have experienced the tourniquet effect myself with Jaywalkers. Unfinished. Ripped out.

Leave a Reply

