Worn Tova

I actually finished my first Tova (note: the pattern seems to be in stock right now) in early January, just before we went to Vietnam.

I made the shirt out of Spotlight “Japanese Tana Lawn” (not sure that they have run that name past any intellectual property lawyers).  Despite any concerns I have about their naming practices, I love this fabric.  While not quite living up to the quality of its namesake (but only by a very slim margin), it is only $14.95 per metre, less, if they have it on sale.  I am also quite happy to cut it.  You see, I suffer from perfection paralysis with Liberty Tana Lawn. I love, love, love the stuff, and have a fair stash of it, especially since I found Shaukat.  But if I cut it, and the project turns out anything less than perfect, it is just so disappointing.  This stops me from starting most projects with it – what if they don’t work out? All psychiatric advice is welcome….

I made several changes to the pattern, both accidental and deliberate.  The deliberate changes:

  • I added buttons (and buttonholes!) to the yoke.  I knew that I was planning to wear this shirt travelling, and I think that it is easiest to wear a shirt with buttons under a sweater.  My machine has a one step button hole, and after a practice run they were easy enough to do.
  • I made the sleeves full length.  When I am not wearing a sweater, I roll them up, but I find shirts with full length sleeves easier to wear under sweaters, and thus more versatile for travelling.

I did make the shirt a bit shorter than I intended.  I measured a well loved shop bought tunic in a similar design, and thought that I was adjusting the pattern to that length when I made it 4″ shorter. You really should read all the pattern instructions prior to cutting out. When I read that the bottom hem on the shirt is 1 3/8″, unlike all other seams in the garment, which are 3/8″, I might have let some florid language slip.  I tried just hemming it with a small hem, but then the hem seemed too insubstantial.  As a result, the shirt is 1″ shorter than I would have liked.  If I get motivated, I might unpick the hem, sew on some of the left over fabric (concealing the seam in the hem), but that seems fairly unlikely to happen.  I keep wearing the shirt regardless.

Next time I make it, I will add some featherweight interfacing to the collar, placket and cuffs, and will also add some stay stitching around the yoke.  I found fitting the yoke a bit fiddly, and felt that some stay stitching might have kept everything a little more stable.

I wore the shirt at least three times in Vietnam, but can only find one shot where any portion of it is visible – so squint your eyes, peer near my neck, and see Tova in Hue.

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

5 thoughts on “Worn Tova”

  1. It’s a great top! And I had no idea Spotlight had “tana lawn”. Heh! Might get me some for a skirt, I think!

    (and I know exactly what you mean about the Liberty – I feel the same about winding the wollmeise into a skein – and that is not even knitting it!)

  2. Yes love the lawn at Spotlight. I have that pattern sitting on my cutting table, think I might make a muslin first out of cheap fabric just to check the fit first.

  3. So pretty! And I know exactly what you mean about Liberty Paralysis Syndrome, I have stuff I bought at Shaukat 2 years ago still folded neatly in the drawer. And this week some Lantana arrived which is sooooo beautiful and even more intimidating than the lawn. If I don’t cut in to it I don’t have to deal with the finished project not being as perfect as the fabric deserves.

  4. OMGosh I had no clue when I saw this on you the other day that it was a Spotlight fabric because it look like a $$$ fabric. It looks so very pretty on you and you sewed it to perfection for what I could see. You need to make more of these and maybe break out into that Liberty stash of yours now that you have made this one .)
    I ‘totally’ understand your hesitation about using stuff you love, I too suffer from this disorder..lol We need to view it like.. we can’t take it to our grave – or can we ? .)

    beautiful Ingrid!

Leave a Reply

