A friendly yarn shop in Paris

The trip to Paris involved quite a bit of my family – my sister, her husband and kids had already been in France for a while, and met us there, and my mother-in-law also came, and helped us out with the kids when the Fireman and I nipped off to the hotel.  As a generous older sister, my sister organised a gourmet walking tour as a 40th birthday present to me,  and the tour was preceded by a little knitting shop visit, completing the delightful afternoon.

Lil Weasel had the double advantage of stocking yarns that were interesting to us, and being about 10 minutes walk away from our respective apartments.   My photo of it is hopeless – I waited until the sun had gone to get the camera out, and was in a rush.  The photo above is lifted from their website, and shows a little of the gorgeous covered arcade in which the shop is located.

It stocks a huge variety of yarns, organised by colour, including French brands, Malabrigo and Cascade Yarns.  I had not had the pleasure of touching Cascade Baby Alpaca Chunky until I visited Lil Weasel, and I loved it.  There was also a large selection of patterns and books, including Ysolda’s books (in English), and Liberty fabrics.  However, the very best part of the shop was the service.  We were warmly greeted in French when we arrived, and when the limitations of our French became apparent, greeted in English.  We were left to our own devices to browse (and touch yarns!), and then had heaps of help when we needed it.

After the Worse Hat, I had decided to knit myself a better hat, and Carine  (the assistant at the shop helping us) suggested that I look up my pattern on the store computer to check yarn quantities, and logged me into Ravelry.  When she saw that I was looking at a free pattern (the Amanda Hat), she printed off a copy for me!  She found a number of different needles in the correct size, and nothing was a bother for her.  My sister disliked her only remaining travelling knitting project intensely, and was keen to cast on her purchase of Cascade Heritage Sock now, if not sooner.  Carine set up the store yarn swift and winder for her so that she could cast on the minute she got back to her apartment.   My sister has only positive things to say about Cascade Heritage Sock, and it is extremely reasonably priced.

So if you happen to be in Paris, and are looking for a good all round yarn shop, visit Lil Weasel. 1 passage du Grand Cerf,  75002 PARIS (Métro Etienne Marcel / Réaumur Sébastopol / Les Halles).

edit – I ran out of yarn for the hat, and called L’il Weasel, and after a quick Paypal transaction, they sent me the required yarn, in the same dye lot.  What great customer service!

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

9 thoughts on “A friendly yarn shop in Paris”

  1. Oooh, looks lovely. I really should visit Paris again. More. More often. Considering I took French in school and The Limey actually studied in France for a bit, it’s actually the easiest foreign country for us to get around in, and yet we never go!

  2. I went to Lil Weasel in 2014 and it was even better than you deacribed! I preder it to La Drogerie. The owner was lovely and could not have been more helpful. Can’t wait to go back.

Leave a Reply

