Happy New Year

We’ve had a good end to the year – A German Cherry Christmas cake was made in time for Christmas Day.  As it turned out, actually having the Nigella Lawson recipe was not the only problem that I faced.  I had forgotten that her recipes tend to rely on weighed measures of ingredients, and my kitchen scales?  They are in the sea freight.  There was lots of approximation, after googling ingredient volumes, but the cake turned out surprisingly well, although a little dry around the edges.

My mother’s Christmas present? This red striped laptop from Dell. She is still waiting on delivery, so a real life photo will be later. 

Since Christmas, we have been catching up with lots of old friends, and have made these new ones.

When I went on maternity leave with older daughter, I was startled on my first day off to hear a knock at our back door, and to see a sulfur-crested cockatoo there, looking at me expectantly.  These rainbow lorikeets aren’t quite at the stage of knocking on the door yet, but they are very happy for me to get quite close while they are eating apple.  I’m going to try and see if I can get them used to the big camera and the macro lens next. The abundant bird life is one wonderful thing about Sydney.

As for new years resolutions, I’m not much for them.  I am going to knit socks toe up this year, having just bought Socks from the Toe Up, but apart from that, I’d like to spend less time in medical settings.  I’ll be posting in the next couple of days with quite a few finished little items – I’ve been knitting as fast as I can to keep my family warm for the upcoming trip!

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year”

  1. happy new year … the cake looks yum.. watch out for those guys they are greedy and noisy and will bicker like children 😀 They are also lots of fun to watch.

  2. I’ve often thought about feeding the birds when they turn up, but haven’t yet…I think I should (but I want to avoid the more common mynah birds, so will have to be careful!)

    Happy New Year to you and your family – hope it is better (medically speaking) than 2009.

  3. Those birds are beautiful and they are very bold and quite aggressive and unafraid of people. I have no double they will be knocking on the door soon!

    Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

