This week

I was going to write a post about medical miracles – my father had deep brain stimulation surgery to treat Parkinson’s last week, and it has had a miraculous effect, and after years of declining function, he has has renewed energy and abilities, and he is back, enjoying his retirement, and will be deep sea fishing soon. This article pretty much describes what Dad went through, and the effect it also had on him. He looks amazing, apart from some rather scary scars and shaved head.  I’m pretty sure he’s happy for the world to know about the surgery, he did tell the local paper!

Unfortunately, major brain surgery on my father is only one of the significant medical events happening in my family.  The family emergency which required the temporary closure of Yarn Workshop in September has become significantly worse, with the patient (who has entirely reasonably requested privacy), being diagnosed with a another life threatening condition that is going to require months of significant medical treatment. I’ll be doing more knitting in hospital corridors.

We only have a few certainties,  Yarn Workshop will go into temporary hiatus from 13 November 2009 until it is unpacked in Sydney Australia; and we are in the fortunate position where the Fireman has a job in Sydney. Apart from that, we do not know when we move, where we will move to, whether we will put the kids into school for the dregs of the Australian school year.  A few things to figure out.

I’ve recently come across A Commonplace Life via a-black-pepper, and decided to participate in her concept Moments. I edit what goes on in this blog fairly ruthlessly (so you can probably guess how discombobulated my life actually is), but in the photo below you see my dining room on Thursday.

Dining Room in real life

For me, this actually isn’t that messy.  There is only one package on the dining table awaiting shipping, one old Koolhaas being stretched into a new shape (effectively as it turns out), the sewing machine which has been in same position for the last three weeks, and stacks of books and papers. The skein of alpaca over the far dining chair has been there for at least 4 weeks.  It is awaiting overdyeing. The books and papers situation does not improve around the house, and the guiltiest part of it all is that we actually have a live-in housekeeper who is maniacally tidy.

When we moved to Hong Kong, it became apparent that we had no reasonably priced child care  options apart from a live in helper (and I mean none – there are no child care centres for working parents, and we have no family here). N started with us, and stayed when I returned to full time work, and is still with us now. I manage to turn her tidiness into mess.

When we return to Australia, she will not be able to come with us (because of Australia’s immigration laws), and it will be a big readjustment for our family.  I’ve taken care of our kids without a helper, and am not so concerned about that aspect, but the girls have known her nearly all their lives, and for them it will be a real loss. Older daughter seems to have inherited a recessive tidy gene, so for her, the change will be really dramatic. What does it say when you actually have a housekeeper, and your house ends up looking like this?

In other news, I’ve updated my “About” page, and formalised my husband’s blog identity as “the Fireman”.  He really was a professional firefighter when I met him (over 10 years in the NSW Fire Brigade), and he is still wonderfully calm in the face of a crisis.

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

11 thoughts on “This week”

  1. Sounds like you’ve got a very full plate. Here’s hoping everything goes well for your unwell one. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers for a smooth transition to Australia. Best of luck!

  2. Ingrid, I’m keeping your family in my thoughts during this time of upheaval. Here’s to healing and new beginnings and plenty of love and laughter between times.

  3. All the best to family Ingrid while all the transitions are going on. Sydney sounds heavenly though.

    I can also relate the shift from having a helper around to doing it all yourself. Sometimes I wish I could move back to Africa so I can have some little help (not that am lazy). It’s awfully hard to live far from family and friends (and not having date night outs)!

  4. That’s wonderful about your dad, Ingrid, and horribly sad about your other family member, here’s hoping they recover well and quickly.

    Truthfully, your dining room is not messy at all, it has organisation … just several different piles of organisation 🙂 Leaving will be hard on your girls but they will also have a brand new adventure to look forward to as well. I remember leaving our cleaning lady/cook/washing lady/friend/second mother ( you get the picture lol) behind in Indonesia, it was very sad but my parents kept in touch with other people in the project we were on and so could keep a line on how she was going. She was much loved. Maybe you can do the same sort of thing ?

    I hope the move goes well, and you all settle back in easily it is a big upheaval.

  5. Nice to hear your Dad is improving, good luck for the treatment with your currently ill one. Best Wishes for a safe and trouble free move back to Oz. It sounds like your life is very busy and not likely to calm down anytime soon, so here’s to calm moments within the storm to allow for a break.

  6. I didn’t get to get to the Stitch ‘N Bitch while on my last trip to Hong Kong as I ended up in Australia more than HK with my own Dad who was having cancer operations – all clear now thank goodness. Anyway, seems like you have been going through lots of different stuff. Hope it all works out. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. Maybe I will get to see you in HK again on future visits. If you end up in Sydney, let me know. Will be there for 3 months this Xmas.

  7. points in with you write about.r I recently searched out knit knitting needles. and found that you were r and found that you were really wonderful person.. I would like to have this product. The pricing is out rageous. How can I possibly get the same quality needles with less pricing? I have a friend whose husband has severe Parkinson and the trimmers are incredible. they originate from France. Dedae is his name. He is now confined to a wheelchair. I know in my heart the his days are numbered. As my mother in law passed away from the same element. I truly miss my mother in law. But my dear frienr has reflected on what may happen to her love to. We spoke a how Europe is very advanced I myself was race in Germany my mother is German. I don’t know if I should write my aunt the atty l lace lace knitting needles if it would be reasonable that way. You have a business for what is going on with this company. I agree that they are very selfish and are trying to corner the market. Because I’m in Mist of purchasing the kit I’m not sure if I want it now. Knowing what they put you through. Please your last on this letter. I admire you for standing up for what is right. By myself and hair designer and lose it completely on a client expect me to give them products that are top of the line for on market value wholesale. I can’t make a living this way. Thank you for your letters and I ran into you by chance have a blessed life and a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Dion

Leave a Reply

