Has anyone seen my blocking wires?

Blocking without wiresToday is a typhoon day in Hong Kong, and schools (and the post office) are closed until the storm passes. I’ve taken advantage of the temporary break to finally finish my Ene’s Scarf (Ravelry link), and conquered my completely idiotic fear of the three needle bind off.

Lace detail

The colour is most accurate in the first photo –  the wild weather meant that while photographing, the light changed every 10 seconds.  As a classic triangular shawl, I was planning to block this with my blocking wires, but they appear to have completely disappeared.  If I loaned them to you, could you put me out of my misery?  Otherwise, the only other rational explanation is that someone broke into the house to only steal my blocking wires…

I started this shawl in Shanghai, on this trip. I motored through chart 1, without a single error, while the kids had an extended afternoon nap.  Chart 2 is substantially easier, but on completing it, I discovered that I was three stitches over. I shoved the scarf in a dark place and tried to ignore it.  Ene’s Scarf remained untouched through summer, and I had visions of me wearing it at the Sock Summit, so I decided to rip back Chart 2 on the flight to the US.  I ripped back, picked up the zillion stitches and reknitted chart 2, and discovered that I was exactly three stitches over again.  This time I said to myself “I’m not entering it in the Royal Easter Show” (that’s the equivalent of the state fair), and in the final row of chart 2 I planted three extra decreases.  After that Chart 3 was pretty easy going, probably because the lace pattern is the same one as in Cozy.

I usually take two projects with me for long haul flights – some thing lacy, for the long boring stretches of the flight, and a stockingette sock for when I am tired, or when there is some engrossing TV viewing.  I have had very few troubles with security and knitting needles, even flying to and from Australia, but never take a project on long needles, and will always have some bamboo DPN’s stashed in my handbag for the very rare occurrence when a security guard takes exception to a sock knitted magic loop on a metal tipped circular. While I find using DPNs to be like wrestling with a porcupine, the wrestle is preferable to sitting with idle hands for 9 hours or more. I was pretty confident about getting this finished at the Sock Summit, so much so that I asked Sandy to bring her blocking wires from Seattle, so that I could block it on the bed in the hotel room.  That didn’t work out, but finally it is done!  I’ll take some modelled shots this weekend, when hopefully the gale force winds will have died down.

Pattern: Ene’s Scarf (Ravelry link), by Nancy Bush, from Scarf Style.  Borrowed from Hong Kong Public Libraries. You can reserve a library book over the internet, and they will deliver it to the branch of your choice, for the princely sum of HKD $2.50 (about $0.34 USD).

Needles: Addi Metal 80cm fixed circulars 4.00 mm.

Yarn: Yarn Workshop Awaba, kettle dyed with Ashford Acid dyes a dark green.

Modifications: None apart from correcting the three stitches extra.

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

3 thoughts on “Has anyone seen my blocking wires?”

  1. I don’t have your wires but can recommend the yarn harlots method of blocking with string. I left my wires in storage and when I finished my stole I threaded string through the edges with a darning needle, pulled the string taut with pins and magic!

Leave a Reply

