Challenging times

2009-01-07-002

The swatch above is knitted out of  Colourmart100% Cashmere 6/18NM ORDK forest green, on the flat, and it seems to have a bias to the right (perhaps we should call it the Fox News swatch?).  I was planning a seamless hybrid  (Ravelry link) for my husband, but the bias would seem to make that unfeasible.  The really annoying thing is that I have a sweater’s worth of this yarn, and it behaved perfectly well when it was knitted into this Cozy. The very kind knitters of the Colourmart Yahoo Group have made some suggestions, but I’m still looking for more.  Can this yarn be a seamless hybrid? 

The other, much bigger, challenge is that we have had to start patching older daughter’s stronger eye again. She was diagnosed with amblyopia and strabismus (lazy eye to you and me) just before younger daughter was born, and she wore patches for 2 hours a days for over 3 years, and has had surgery, and wears glasses. When she was 4 and a half, we got the reprieve from patching, and now, at the age of 6, have been told that she needs to recommence for four to five hours a day.  To say that she is unhappy about this is a massive understatement.  I was with her at the ophthalmologist, and it was obvious that she really couldn’t see out of her left eye.  Of course, this increases the difficulty of wearing the patch (it is almost like being blindfolded for her), and the necessity for wearing the patch! I have been screamed at, kicked and hit in the last 24 hours.  Older daughter is not one to submit quietly, and has explained vigorously and violently her opposition to the patching routine.  If she is left without adult company for 3 seconds while patching is ongoing, the patch is removed. We are using the Ortopads pictured above, which apparently have the most aesthetic appeal for a fashion conscious 6 year old.

We have implemented a program of rewards, culminating in a trip to Disneyland after one moth of patching; but are also having to use threats to get the patching done.  The biggest threat that we have is that her arms will have to be splinted if the patch does not stay on. We did this once when she was 18 months old, and it made me feel like a miserable failure as a parent.  I am loathe to do it again, and would love advice on how I can get an unco-operative child to undertake a therapy which admittedly is not painful, but is frustrating and annoying. 

 

 

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

9 thoughts on “Challenging times”

  1. Hello,

    I can only imagine how hard this is for you and your daughter. I think you are handling it really well. You are trying everything!!

    I am sending you lots of good wishes and patience your way.

    Debs (Ravelry: NEWDKNIT)

  2. It sounds like you are going through a really tough time (and your daughter) – I hope that things go well, and that she doesn’t have to wear the patch for very long.

    As far as the yarn – no ideas, but it is gorgeous yarn and would make a beautiful sweater so I hope you can figure out what is happening with it.

  3. Shame she’s a bit lttle to watch the Pirates Of the Carribean movies because she could have a black eyepatch and be a Pirate Princess!? Get her a gorgeous Pirate outfit and she probably wont want to take the patch off!

  4. There are some reports that patching disturbs the ability of the brain to fuse the two images, ruining the ability to judge distances, etc. Some adults have complained that they never got the ability back after childhood eyepatching. They also said that the weak eye did not get stronger.

  5. I just now put 2 and 2 together and realized you are the same Ingrid as Yarn Workshop. Yes, I’m slow.

    I’m sorry about your little one’s eye issues. Their strong wills can be so hard to break! You’re NOT a failure as a mom though!!

    I’m leaving my 6 year old with a high fever in the care of another mom to fly to HK today for the kidney stuff. Yes, feeling like crud about that, but what is a mom to do??

    BTW, I have some Colourmart extrafine merino superDK weight I just bought… it biases too!! Pretty strongly to the right as well. I just chose to make things it wouldn’t matter for- a couple cowls and a baby hat. But yes, annoying when unexpected!!

  6. When he was about ten, I took my son to the doctor, and, as usual, he pitched a fit when it was time for him to get a shot. The nurse who was trying to administer the shot looked at me and said, He doesn’t go with the flow very well, does he? That comment has stayed with me for years. The reality of it is that the nurse could’ve been talking about me; I don’t go with the flow very well. I hear her voice every time I rail against some condition I can’t change.

    I’ve said all this to say: You’re not likely to get Older Daughter to love the patch, but maybe there might be some little thing in your attitude toward it, and what you convey to her, that you could change in favor of acceptance, and that might prove helpful to both of you.

    Just an offering.

  7. I’ve tried the ‘Reward System’ with both daughters and it worked. We would make an agreement in the beginning to achieve a certain goal and whenever there is something good done, daughter is given a sticker. When a certain number of stickers is collected, there would be a reward (something that you can set in the beginning as well). The situation with elder daughter was trickier so the system was both ways, a goal was set for me too by her, at that time was, I shouldn’t get mad at her and I would earn a sticker. Usually, the positive reinforcement gets into them rather quickly. I didn’t even have to dish out too many ‘rewards’ in the end :). Maybe you would also like to try the both way rewarding, it makes the child feels fairer. Hope things work out well at your end.

Leave a Reply

