We have yarn!

Last night I finally received delivery of our 50% yak/ 50% wool sport weight blend (to be known as Grafton) and our super smooth 55% silk /45% wool laceweight yarn (to be known as Killara). Today, I have been busy washing skeins, confirming yardage and photographing the yarns. Killara is super smooth, its been spun using a fully worsted technique, and has a fantastic drape, and is super soft. The Grafton has a terrific loft for a sportweight, and feels like a cashmere blend after washing.  Tonight (Hong Kong time) they will be listed on Ebay. In the pictures below you can see the yarns before washing (with spinning oils in) on the left, and after washing on the right.

2008-03-21-039.jpg

 2008-03-23.jpg

The Killara is the yarn on top, while the beautiful soft Grafton is below. I’m going to be dyeing tomorrow morning, and will have more shots to show how they take up the dye.

 

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

3 thoughts on “We have yarn!”

  1. I tried looking for your yak/merino yarn on ebay, but couldn’t find it. I’d like to try some, but I only need to buy enough for mitten linings (about 150 yds). How is the skeined/sold?

  2. Any chance you could post the basic pattern for the hat you knitted? I brought home some yak wool from Bhutan without thinking about what I would use it for and how much I might need. Now I am left with two pieces of wool – 340gm and 220gm with no notion of what to make so I am going to make a few hats. We are off skiing in March so that give me enough time to make one for each of us in the family. A matching set!
    I really like the basic hat you have shown here.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

