Yarn in Shanghai

I went to  Shanghai to find yarn; not just for my stash, but also for Yarn Workshop. Luckily, I found lots of yarns for Yarn Workshop, and hope to have the new yarns and blends available in the next few months.  One of the things that I am learning about the yarn business is that there is a significant wait between sourcing a yarn, and receiving it for sale on to my customers.

On the retail side, I visited Heng Yuan Xiang (who are not one of my suppliers).  Heng Yuan Xiang is apparently a Shanghai yarn institution, and their main store is located on Nanjing Rd in Shanghai to the east of the pedestrian area. Their yarn is a beautiful quality – very soft, smooth, and definitely something that I would want rubbing against my neck. In the shop, the yarn is presented in boxes, almost like rows of chocolate boxes.

2008-03-04-017.jpg

Of course, I purchased some yarn, and got my own box of delights. They are all pure merino, and vary in weight from a light fingering, to a laceweight. They are all extremely inexpensive by Western standards.

2008-03-04-106.jpg

 

I seem to be very keen on red yarn at present. If you are visiting Shanghai and have the slightest interest in knitting, I highly recommend a visit.  The store details are below (clicking on the picture will open another bigger image for printing), and I would print them out to give to your taxi driver, or a friendly Chinese reader who can mark it on a map for you. Heng Yuan Xiang are an Olympic sponsor, and the outside of the shop is covered in signage for the Beijing Olympics. No-one in the store spoke English, so some charades were required. The pure wool yarns (and most seemed to be pure wool) were marked with a Woolmark logo.

  hengyuanxiang.jpg

Apart from yarn sourcing, and shopping, I visited Century Park in Shanghai.  It wasn’t mentioned in most of the tourist information on Shanghai; but it is well worth a walk if you are staying in the Pudong area. If you are travelling with small children, it would be worth a detour.  It is a large park with plenty of space for kids to run around, and even a small amusement park. It has a variety of beautiful gardens that were coming alive in the early Spring sunshine.

2008-03-04-057.jpg

 I had lots of fun taking photos of the blossoms, and had some luck capturing the frantic activity of the bees that were making the most of the flowers.

2008-03-04-071.jpg

 

2008-03-04-072.jpg

The gardens weren’t all traditional flowers – someone had planted beds of plants that looked like pink cabbage or lettuce (anyone know their real name?). Their colours looked amazing in the sunshine.

2008-03-04-077.jpg

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

7 thoughts on “Yarn in Shanghai”

  1. How beautiful, and lovely to have spring. The plants are “Winter Kale” , a decorative cabbage. If you were to smell them up close, you would have known, lol.

  2. That yarn store looks like a candy store! I will have to look it up if I go to Shanghai.

    The blossoms are pretty; wish there was something like that in HK!

  3. very informative,thankyou.As i am a visitor in shanghai and knitting and love knitting.hope to visit the places soon.

Leave a Reply

