All her own work

We purchased our older daughter a toy knitting machine for Christmas, and when we went to unpack it, discovered that the instructions were all in Japanese.  Not being clever enough to be able to read them, and not being able to find a translation; we had to return it.  On my return to the store, I noticed the complete Barbie knitting kit – and it has instructions in english, with a circular knitting machine, knitting needles, and a french knitting tool.  It also comes with 4 balls of super attractive pure acrylic yarn.

20071229-022-1.jpg

Older Daughter just turned 5, and she loves it!  She has shown a lot of persistence, and she figured out very quickly that if she turned the handle too quickly, or forced it, that she would drop stitches. You will note that I said “she figured out” – one thing that the machine has taught me is that my older daughter is very resistant to being taught, as opposed to learning.  Things were much happier around here once I stopped supervising her and “helping” her.    One day after setting her up with it, she turned out this (in all its unblocked acrylic glory):

20071229-007.jpg

She wouldn’t let me bind off the ends because “it doesn’t need it”.  Unfortunately, now the scarf has returned to the ball of yarn stage.  Older daughter will now concede that binding off might have a role in the world of knitted goods.

While older daughter was busy with the machine, younger daughter was busy with the french knitter.  Does anyone have a use for long tubes of acrylic yarn?  We have developed some hair ties, but I’m struggling to think of other uses.

One more photo, which shows the flurry of activity as older daughter arranged the photo for the shoot. She was VERY keen to have photos of her knitting taken, both for the blog, and for her grandparents.  

20071229-006-1.jpg

Its amazingly quick, and the tension is good, but the machine will be of limited utility unless I can figure out a way to increase, decrease, or do short rows. Does anyone have any ideas on increases or decreases, and short rows?

 I am thinking that I might be able to “borrow” the machine and turn out some Christmas stockings for next year.  As it is, I have not finished my Christmas knitting (yes, I know that it is the new year); and am thinking that the relatives who are freezing in Canada might really like some long, completely plain stockinette scarves – I could always use some of my left over Colourmart dark green cashmere, and add a fringe. Maybe if I overdye the yarn first for some variation ……

I’m also thinking that the knitting machine might have a use in dyeing – I’ve read somewhere about it (involving knitting, dyeing, then unravelling) but I can not seem to find a link anywhere (found it) – it could be very good for doing long colour changes…..

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

5 thoughts on “All her own work”

  1. Hi,
    Where did you find this machine?? I have never seen one quite like it. I have a collection of the original Mattel crank knitters. There are several 20 st models currently in production, an Addi machine with 22 needles, and a 44 needle unit by NSI. Addi is coming out with a 46 st machine, but it is only available in Germany right now. The Addi machines are pricey, but they knit very well.
    I Moderate a Yahoo Group devoted to them that you might find interesting.
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mattel_knitter/
    There are some You Tube videos on the NSI 44 st machine.
    Have you seen the videos on You Tube on this?
    Some of my my favs were done by mycraftroom
    Cast on-

    Cast off a hat, sew the top

    Change colors/misc

    tonigirl turned the brim of her hat on the Innovations machine, like
    loom knitters do. I wish she could have shown the needle area better,
    but it gives you the idea. I have done this on the smaller units.
    It’s nice b/c you have a finished turned brim after you knit the rest and have casted off.

    One can not increase and decrease on these knitters b/c there is no way to put the needles in “hold” or remove them and put them back in like on a real sock machine. You can hand knit afterward heel and toe. These are best used for scarfs and Barbie clothes. The 44 st model is great for scarfs, lke Harry Potter, and hats.

    Come join us.
    Barb in NC

  2. Oh, gosh, I should have read your “About” first. You are in Hong Kong, where so many toy knitters are sold. We never see most of them in the States b/c they are not exported to the States … not sure why. I scour eBay looking for them!

    There are the little novelry 6 needle egg knitters that are so cute!

    You could have a side line selling them on eBay. The shipping would probably be high, but the buyer gets to pay that. I know how hard threy are to find here.

    TTFN, Barb in NC

  3. I got one of these for 75 cents at the local thrift store. I had to take it apart to fix it; a few pegs got stuck above the plastic thing in the bottom. Wicked hard to fix. And I can’t get it to knit panels, just tubes. Anyone have suggestions for panels? I know there’s a switch but it doesn’t seem to do anything.

  4. How about taking 3 or more tubes, braid them together for a nice warm scarf. Finish the ends with fringe or pom poms.
    Love that the girls are “knitting”.

Leave a Reply

