Yarn shopping in Beijing

img_2678.jpg

Prior to the trip to Beijing, I asked Maryann for some yarn store recommendations – she replied (through Ravelry) with a list of 9 stores, but I only got to visit one while I was there. After going to the Great Wall, I asked our guide to drop me off at Wan Sha Jin Dian. For anyone who is interested in visiting, its at Ground Floor, No 14-2, Deng Si Kou Da Jie. Dong Cheng District (and for a Beijing taxi diver, print out 万纱经典纺织品 – 北京市东城区灯市口大街14- 2号 Tel: 65127090).  I walked back to the hotel (the Hyatt) from there, and it took me about 15 minutes. 

img_2684.jpg 

 Its an Aladdin’s cave of yarn, with yarn stacked on every available surface.  Some is in hanks, some wound into balls, and some is on cones.

img_2681.jpg

All the prices that you can see are per kilo (at 7.8 renminbi per US$1), and the yarn was weighed and I was told the price using a calculator.  The staff spoke almost no english, and I can not read Chinese, so I was a bit in the dark about the qualities of some of the yarn that I bought, but the prices were fantastic.

 img_2682.jpg

I think that all of the yarns I got were 100% natural fibres (with some cashmere thrown in the blend), and in total I spent about $20 US. There is 400 grams of the grey laceweight (which seems to be 95% wool, 5% cashmere), nearly 500 grams of the tweedy double knitting yarn (feels like merino) and 150 grams of the pink laceweight (maybe wool/silk?).

20071222-060.jpg

All in all,  an excellent haul.  I would have participated in lots more yarn adventures, but had a sick child, and a heavy cold myself.  The sub zero temperatures also made more random wandering less attractive. Next time I go, I plan to take a translation machine, so that I can investigate the yarns more.  There seems to be a thriving yarn culture in Beijing!

Published by

travellersyarn

I can be contacted at travellersyarn at yahoo.com

4 thoughts on “Yarn shopping in Beijing”

Leave a Reply

